About Us Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi

Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi is one of the seven institutes of technology created as centres of excellence for higher training, research and development in science, engineering and technology in India, the others being at Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras, Bombay, Guwahati and Roorkee. Established as College of Engineering in 1961, the institute was later declared an Institution of National Importance under the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Act, 1963 and was renamed Indian Institute of Technology Delhi. It was then accorded the status of a deemed university with powers to decide its own academic policy, to conduct its own examinations, and to award its own degrees.

HRH Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh, laid the foundation stone of the institute on 27 January, 1959. The institute was inaugurated by Prof. Humayun Kabir, the then Union Minister for Scientific Research and Cultural Affairs on 21 August, 1961. The institute buildings were formally opened by Dr. Zakir Hussain, the then President of India, on 2 March, 1968.

For further details on IIT Delhi you may visit:http://www.iitd.ernet.in /